(I’m going to try to post here once a week, I know I feel off last year after work and school got in the way, but we’ll see where this goes)

The way the past few years have gone. I am never really picky about what movies I go and see. I usually end up seeing all of them. So I see all the good films, but then I also see the bad films, mostly bad films. So to keep myself sane, I of course have a few movies that I know I want to see the most. So due to a lack of a better transition. Here is my top 10 (kind of 12) most anticipated movies for the year 2017.

10. Valerian and The City of a Thousand Planets

Valerian.jpg

Valerian is based off of a 60’s French sci-fi graphic novel. It follows Valerian (Dane Dehan) and Laureline (Cara Delevigne) as they explore the galaxy and meet a bunch of crazy aliens and people. One of which I hear is Ethan Hawke as a space pimp. So there’s that.

This film wasn’t really on my radar, then I watched the trailer, and holy shit does it look cool. It’s going hardcore with weird aliens and colorful weird worlds. I’m all about this. That and the trailer being set to “Because” by the Beatles makes the film feel trippy and larger than life. It’s directed by Luc Besson, who hasn’t been on a hot streak lately (I thought his last film Lucy was garbage). But this could be a lot of fun if done right.

I’ll leave you the trailer and you can chooses to agree or not.

9. Dunkirk

Dunkirk.png

It’s the next Christopher Nolan movie, so everyone is at least kind of interested. Last summer, Warner Bros released a teaser for the film that didn’t the audience anything. Not what it was about or who was even starring in it, only the fact that it was directed by Christopher Nolan, he’s the only director who can get away with that.

Dunkirk follows a group of soldiers that are stranded in France and need to make it to the shores of Dunkirk if they want to be rescued. This film is also the acting debut of Harry Styles of One Direction fame, Nolan clearly sees something in him so I’m excited to find out what he brings to it. This being a Chris Nolan film, beautiful cinematography, huge real stunts, and old school filmmaking are a given. Even in Interstellar was just meh, counting out Nolan at this point isn’t wise.

Here is that teaser I mentioned.

Dunkirk opens July 21st

8. Thor: Ragnarock

Thor Ragnarock.jpg

Marvel Studios is probably going to have another very good year. Guardian of The Galaxy Vol. 2 looks fun and expensive. Spider-Man: Homecoming is giving us more High School Spidey and looks like a fresh start for the character. But Thor: Ragnarock has preaked my interest out of all of them.

Thor has always been my favorite Avenger, I loved his first movie, one of my favorite origin films. I hated The Dark World, but not enough to sour me on the character. But this one has easily the coolest cast of newcomers and mainstays to the MCU. Names like Cate Blanchett, Tesse Thompson, Jeff Goldblum, and Karl Urban joining Idris Elba, Anthony Hopkins, and Tom Hiddleston(Also more Loki, that’s always great). Add on Mark Ruffalo’s Bruce Banner, and Benedict Cumberbatch’s Doctor Strange joining Chris Hemsworth’s God of Thunder in the superhero department and you have a knockout cast.

This is also being directed by Taika Waititi, who directed the future classic “What We Do in the Shadows” and last years “Hunt for the Wilderpeople”. It’s supposed to be a crazy road trip movie with Thor and Hulk. So I’m on board for what is promising to be a crazy movie.

Thor: Ragnarock opens November 3rd

7. Lucky Logan

Logan Lucky.jpg

If the above photo doesn’t get you excited, then I don’t know how to help you.

Lucky Logan is a comedy about two brothers scheming to pull off a robbery during a NASCAR race in North Carolina. This is the return of Steven Soderbergh to the directing chair after 4 years of working in television. Soderbergh is behind many great films, but he directed Magic Mike. So I’ll just say this guy is good. If you haven’t seen Magic Mike over some weird stigma. Get over it and enjoy it, it’s such a fun movie.

If you don’t know why Soderbergh returning is a big deal, just look at his cast and you’ll understand why. Joining Craig and Driver are Hilary Swank, Channing Tatum, Sebastian Stan, and Katherine Waterson. At one point, Michael Shannon was in the film, but had to drop out due to a scheduling conflict. He was replaced with Seth MacFarlane… because no one’s perfect. Besides that, the film is an obvious one to look forward to.

Lucky Logan opens October 19th

6. Logan

Logan.jpg

Hugh Jackman has been Wolverine for 17 years now. So it makes sense that everyone who was born the year of his debut in 2000’s X-Men are of age to witness his final bow as the Iconic mutant in the R-Rated Logan. Logan will follow Wolverine teaming up with a worn down Professor X (The amount of make up needed to make Patrick Stewart look old is very funny to me) as they protect a young girl named Laura. That’s all I’ll say for now.

This is another case of I wasn’t sure how pumped I was for this film. Then I saw the trailer, and I was completely blown away. It’s doing what makes a great superhero film these days. Staying away from cliches and making great movies around superhero protagonists. The tone looks serious and heavy, but it definitely looks like it has a lot of great moments. It says something when I’m most excited to see what happens at that dinner table scene more than anything else in the trailer. This looks like it’s the sendoff that Hugh Jackman deserves… Until he figures out how to do a Deadpool/Wolverine movie without feeling like a liar.

You’ve definitely seen it. But here’s the Logan trailer since you probably want to watch it right now

Logan opens March 3rd

5. The Weekend of February 12th (John Wick 2, The Lego Batman Movie, and Fifty Shades Darker) (Let Me Explain)

IMG_6410.JPG

First let me tell you about the weekend I’m most excited about this year. Two years ago, I did a double feature on Valentines Day weekend. My friends and I went to see Kingsman: The Secret Service and then they all left and my buddy Josh and I went to see Fifty Shades of Grey. We were the only two guys who didn’t bring girls and we just had fun laughing at the movie. So obviously we want to do that with the sequel Fifty Shades Darker. But now we get two badass movies to go along with it.

John Wick was one of those surprises that rocked my world. So I’m hella excited for the sequel. Every trailer looks like they’re going to keep up the energy and fun of the last film. Then of course, The Lego Batman Movie. If you know me, If it has Batman in it, I’m there. This honestly looks like it’s going to be the best Batman movie we’re going to get for a while… seriously. But this celebration and take down of The Dark Knight looks like it’s going to be a joy to watch, It’s about time for a fun Batman movie. Fifty Shades Darker looks stupid, but I’m obligated to watch it. So whatever. But seriously, for people who spend their time better than me. Plan for the ultimate Valentines Weekend double feature and enjoy the two awesome looking movies.

John Wick 2, The Lego Batman Movie, and Fifty Shades Darker open on the day I just mentioned.

4. War of the Planet of the Apes

War of the Planet of the Apes.jpg

“I… did not… start this war” exhales an exhausted Caesar at the beginning of the trailer for the third film in the Planet of the Apes reboot series. The ultimate conflict between humans and the genetically superior Apes humanity created is starting, and the end isn’t looking good for the humans.

This is one of the most underappreciated series of movies. Everyone knows they’re really good, but no one really talks about them. I’m completely in love with them. They have some of the best and complex characters in blockbusters today and they’re all motion capture chimpanzees with limited vocabularies. Andy Serkis is going to continue to be overlooked for his performance during awards seasons. But maybe this can change peoples minds. Also, Woody Harrelson is the antagonist and leader of the human army, so you know he’s going to be bring the house down. I’m going to continue to bow down to our future ape overlords and hope they take me in as one of their own. I do a mean chimpanzee walk.

Watch this to get the same chills that I have.

War of the Planet of the Apes opens July 14th

3. Blade Runner 2049

Blade Runner 2049.jpg

Blade Runner is a movie that I have seen many times. Mostly because there are 5 versions of the movie and I watched all of them one night with my buddy Joe as we worked on a Blade Runner project for Film History class. But a sequel finally coming out was met with some apprehension. Does this movie need to get made? Get Denis Villeneuve involved (The genius behind Arrival and Prisoners), get Roger Deakins on Cinematography duty, and Ryan Gosling to star alongside a returning Harrison Ford. Now I’m wondering how there are people who still aren’t excited about this movie.

Ridley Scott has said that this film was always meant to be a series of films. Why that never happened until now I don’t know. But now that it is, I’m actually grateful Scott is only producing, since he hasn’t exactly been on his A-Game. Something really interesting though, Ryan Gosling is famously very picky about the roles he takes on. He is not a fan of taking on franchises (He said no to playing Doctor Strange and The Joker) but this film has changed his mind, and that’s probably a good thing. Here’s hoping for the best from this movie, and that Jared Leto (playing an unknown role) isn’t murdered by Ford after licking all the donuts on the craft service table so everyone knows how crazy he is.

Blade Runner 2049 opens October 6th

2. Wonder Woman

IMG_6399.JPG

A big thing that separates Wonder Woman from a lot of superheroes is that she’s a character who arguably has a lot of fans who have never seen or read anything featuring the character, there’s a reason for that. Wonder Woman is more than a comic book superhero, she is a feminist icon who means a lot to many people, and that is why I think this film can be really great. Patty Jenkins is directing and has a clear understanding of this history and what she means to people. The trailer of the film also brings a lot of confidence. The scene of her stepping into a War Zone and deflecting a bullet with her bracelet and keeping her stride is such a badass look (1:31 in the trailer). Along with her relationship with Steve Trevor (A really well cast Chris Pine), which looks like it isn’t over or under played looks perfect for introducing Wonder Woman to the general public.

DC does not have the hottest track record right now. 2016 was their first year really putting out movies in the DC Extended Universe, and both films slipped on a banana peel, fell down a flight of stairs, and then the ambulance taking them to the hospital drove off a bridge. It was embarrassing. So now, I know Wonder Woman has a lot to prove to make people care about these movies, and I think they can succeed. For one thing. It’s fun to make blanket statements about DC and how everything they make sucks (Not true in the slightest, just open most of their currents comics.)and that their movies are tainted. But Patty Jenkins isn’t Zack Snyder, she isn’t David Ayer, They directed their failures, not her. So it’s time to give Patty Jenkins a shot and see what she brings to this character. Gal Gadot also has so much passion for the role and character. Wonder Woman doesn’t deserve failure and neither do they. So I’m going to be hopeful and excited as hell for this movie.

Here’s the Wonder Woman trailer. Again, just to remind you that this looks awesome.

Wonder Woman opens June 2nd

1. Baby Driver

Baby Driver.jpg

Edgar Wright’s last film The World’s End was all the way back in 2013. His next film was going to be Ant-Man, a film he had been preparing for for 8 years. But in 2014, he was let go due to creative differences. We haven’t heard much from Wright since then. Ant-Man turned out fine, but one couldn’t help imagining what could have been. But Wright has moved on and is giving us something better, an original film.

Baby Driver follows a get away driver, Baby (Ansel Elgort) who has a personal playlist that he used throughout his day, and during his job. But when he wants out after meeting a girl (Lily James), a mob boss (Kevin Spacey) wants him to stay in the game and now Baby needs to find a way to make it out alive, all to the beat of a giant soundtrack.

This film will be the first film that isn’t a straight up comedy from Wright. But just the sound of that, big car chases set to catchy songs is one of my favorite things. This movie sounds like something I’ve wanted to see in an action movie for a long time, and Wright is just the guy to nail this sort of thing. Jamie Foxx and Jon Hamm costar which is just icing on the cake. I really hope this film brings out the best in Jon Hamm, an actor who deserves so much more than what he’s been given post-Mad Men. Edgar Wright hasn’t disappointed me yet and I don’t think he will let that happen. This also has the potential to get rave reviews and then no one goes to see it because the movie is being released a week after the fucking Emoji Movie. Don’t wait to find it later on streaming a year later, go out to the theater and see it. That makes this the film to look out for in 2017.

Baby Driver opens August 11th

Leave a Reply

